Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Wolesi Jirga, Senate elect admin delegations

Wolesi Jirga, Senate elect admin delegations

Mar 07, 2017 - 18:11

KABULinfo-icon (Pajhwok): The Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon or lower house of the parliament on Tuesday elected deputy and second deputy speakers while the Mesharano Jirgainfo-icon or Senate chose commission heads and the secretary.

Wolesi Jirga

Lawmakers from eastern Nangarhar province Haji Zahir Qadir and Mirwais Yaseeni and Mohammad Humayun Humayun from Khost province were contenders for the position of the first deputy speaker.

Nazir Ahmad Ahmadzai, a Kochi representative, and Niamatullah Ghafari, a lawmaker from Helmand province, vied for the 2nd deputy speaker position.

Saleh Mohammad Saljoqi, a lawmaker from western Herat province, and Abdul Rauf Enami from Badakhshan province ran for the secretary position. Erfanullah Erfan from Kabul was the only contender for the deputy secretary position and was elected unanimously.

Earlier Erfan also served as deputy secretary of the Wolesi Jirga.

Nazir Ahmad Ahmadzai, who secured 133 votes from the lawmakers present, was elected as 2nd deputy speaker, replacing Niamatullah Ghafari.

None of the contenders for the post of 1st deputy speaker was able to get the required number of votes during today’s election.

Zahir Qadir grabbed 56 votes, Mohammad Humayun 75 and Yasini got 73 votes, falling short of the required threshold.

Election for the Wolesi Jirga secretary post would be held tomorrow. Abdul Qader Zazai, a lawmaker from Kabul and Abdul Sattar Khawasi from Parwan province were the contenders.

Meshrano Jirgainfo-icon

Tayib Atta was elected as the Meshrano Jirga’s secretary. He received 33 votes. His rival candidates were Mohammad Gul Rasooli and Najiba Hussaini. Atta replaces Abdullah Qarlaq.

Meshrano Jirga chairman Fazl Hadi Muslimyar meanwhile announced the election of Mohmmad Ajan Mangal, a Kochi tribe representative, as head of the house panel on tribes.

Abdul Latif Nohzatyar was elected as head of the commission on educationinfo-icon and higher education.

Mualvi Mohiuddin Munsif as head of the legislative affairs and judicial commission, Latif Zhwande as international affairs commission head, Shafiqa Nawrozkhel as womeninfo-icon’s affairs head and Mir Hatam Tarakhel as head of the provincial councils and legislators’ security commission.

However, heads for five other commissions were elected behind closed doors after an agreement between the members.

As a result of voting, Mohammad Hahim Alokozai was appointed as head of the security and defence affairs commission.

Nisar Haris was appointed as public works commission head, Mohammad Hanif Hanafi as complaints commission head, and Lotfullah Baba as transport and telecommunications commission head.

Mohammad Alam Izadyar was appointed as 1st deputy chairman, Dr. Mohammad Asif Sadiqi as 2nd deputy chairman and Dr. Faisal Sami as deputy secretary of the house yesterday.

Heads of houses

The head of both houses of the National Assembly are selected once in a legislative term. Abdul Rauf Ibrahimi, the Wolesi Jirga speaker and Fazal Hadi Muslimyar, the Meshrano Jirga chairman, would remain at their posts until the end of the legislative period.

The article 83rd of the Constitution says, “The work period of the House of People shall terminate, after the disclosure of the results of the elections, on the 1st of Saratan of the fifth year and the new parliament shall commence work.”

“The elections for members of the House of People shall be held 30-60 days prior to the expiration of the term of the House of People.”

However, the Presidential Palace in Jawza month of 1394 announced that Wolesi Jirga, would continue working until next elections. The elections haven’t been held so far.

The work tenure of appointed members of Meshrano Jirga was also extended till next elections of Wolesi Jirga and district councils based on a presidential decree.


Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update